Christian Hip Hop Is DEAD

image

Now before you call Lecrae, Trip Lee or DA Truth let me explain myself. When I got SAVED the one thing I struggled with was the music I listened too.Why? Because I Loved Rap Music, DMX, CHILL MOODY, PLIES, DRAKE, TOO SHORT…ETC.

So it started to get weird, I’d leave church and turn on DMX and all I heard was F*** every other word.
So I went cold turkey, but I ain’t gone lie. .. Gospel Music is sometimes…
SAD I mean it had to be more to gospel music than just Worship music!!!

I had to figure this thing out or I’d lose either my mind or my salvation. I ended up going to a Trip Lee concert and one of the bands to open up for Trip was JAYANDJAYSOUL, they had this whole “Neo Soul meets Hip Hop Sound” and it instantly got me hooked.

That opened the Door to me listening to The 116 clique, DA Truth, Sho Baraka, Canton Jones, Andy Mine
And it was all good…I was able to make a clean break from secular music.

Then Lecrae Dropped a few that shook me, he Graced the B.E.T. AwARDS on the Cypher, then two months later he drops Church Clothes.  Don’t get me wrong he went ham…matter of fact my favorite line was, “the things they do for whips and chains…slaves” I was so hype that a Christian Rapper was in a secular arena and repped that Christ life.

Little did I know that was the beginning to the end of Gospel Rap…honestly this started a chain of events that led to the subtle Death of Christian Hip Hop!

I had to get my thoughts out, this Christian Hip Hop was driving me crazy:

Christian HIP HOP is dead
Literally It’s a wrap
Cue the organs
I’m just saying
Songs might have a beat but where’s the heart at?
I’m asking…don’t worry I’ll wait..I’ll canvass
Where’s the art at?
It’s been symptoms of disease for a while
Where’d it start at
When lecrae dropped the christian..
And said call it rap..

Since Songs promoting popping a molly
Gospel artists like I wanna make popular music
Ask mali
A nice hook a nice beat
Will have former gospel rappers
Wit tracks featuring Miley
That Cyrus
The whole genre is confused
Why that…why this…
We all know where the money at
But can u tell me what WISE is…
Been my girlfriend for years calling you wifey
The World forgot what a wife is..
Wait wait wait
Before I go to far left. .
Let me tell you what right is…
We so used to low minded thinking
We forgot what height is..

So if Mike Will Made It
And the Christian’s still play it
Then what r we saying how we feel about our savior
If you watching our behavior…

Wait we still talking bout music
I’m not saying you cant rap
But how can it free their minds
If it sounds like trap music

It’s confusing
It’s OUR music…
We came to hear the word
But all we got was a performance
Sunday morning talent shows
What happened to the service
What happened to the servants
What happened to our purpose
What happened to the worship

It’s nothing wrong wit a snazzy methophor
A dope punchline
But we straddling the fence

Are we afraid to draw the line….
Naw it’s not that…
Are you afraid you wouldn’t have barrz
Unless you were featured on
Orange is the new Black

My Point Is the Moment CHRISTIAN HIP HOP infiltrated Secular or Pop Music we were to SET A STANDARD. ..not want to LOOK like THEM…SOUND like them…Because how do we Stand Out if We don’t want to be Called Christian any More? ? Just Artist’s?

Now don’t get me wrong a Gospel Rapper don’t gotta say Jesus 100 times as LECRAE took shots at his confused christian fan base on his song “Fear” that’s featured on his New Album ANAMOLY.

Da Truths latest album HEARTBEAT didn’t say Jesus 100 times but his album still had a sense of WORSHIP..
it had the beats, the barrs, but The Heart was still there an now days
Most artists trying to crossover like CRAE did is trying too hard to sound like The World..The Fans or the Kids that need music that sets apart from Lil Wayne and Drake are missing out on a outlet and never find a alternative to rap and continue to feed their spirit while still fulfilling the desire of hearing hip hop.

But if Gospel Rappers just want to be rappers..sport The Same Glasses and Swag like the World… who appeals to the Kid that’s READY FOR CHANGE..
READY FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT..

That’s why Christian Hip Hop Is Dead…
Once a Genre Created to pull
Hip hops from suggestive lyrics and drug and thug life commentary and once again neglected and left with no reason to change habits because the alternatives look just like issues some people are tired of being apart of…

Who knows if Hip Hop will ever be revived. .but right now it’s more about True Religions and and false doctrines
Louis V’s Jordans and Designer Shades…smh

But If I could say 1 thing to Chrustian Hip Hop on its death bed…
We miss you..and we need you..DA TRUTH can’t do it all alone…
So we all have been lost at times…
I just hope Christian Rap don’t go into the Flashing Lights. . And Let Their Light shine and come home…

-OR-

R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

